Network Learning Project: From Soybeans to Tofu Update

For the last two weeks, I’ve been working on my Network Learning Project (NLP) for CEP 810. I am learning how to make homemade tofu using only online videos, blogs, and forums. Thankfully, “today’s digital networks provide new opportunities for learners to access a wide range of knowledge and resources” (Ito et al., 2013, p. 76). After much research, I decided to combine two how-to videos uploaded on YouTube.

The first step in making tofu is to buy or make soy milk. Rebecca Morris, host of Do-It-Yourself Tofu (DIY Tofu),  recommends making soy milk because store-bought soy milk contains preservatives that affect the milk’s ability to curdle (America’s Test Kitchen, 2012). In this video, Rebecca explains and demonstrates the entire process of making tofu in a simple step-by-step tutorial. However, instead of making soy milk with a blender, as Rebecca suggests, I chose to go a different route.

Parts of Soyabella
Image from Soyabella

I decided to add to my NLP challenge by learning how to use a Soyabella Soymilk Maker to make soy milk. In order to follow the rules of my NLP challenge, I put the directions away and searched for resources on the Internet. The Soyabella website was helpful to familiarize myself with the Soyabella’s various parts. Additionally, Nichola Ludlam-Raine (2014) uploaded a how-to video that explains and demonstrates how to make soy milk using the Soyabella I own.

After soaking the soybeans in water overnight, I followed Nichola’s directions to turn soybeans into soy milk. Upon completion, I realized I didn’t have enough soy milk required for the DIY Tofu instructions. To solve this problem, I simply decided to repeat the process. This time, soy milk started spraying out of the Soyabella’s spout about five minutes in! I grabbed a pan to catch the soy milk, hoping to minimize the mess, and unplugged the machine.

553813E2-EAB6-486C-B0E5-8E66B9FD0C3D (2).gif
Failed First Attempt: Making Soy Milk

After reflecting on my actions, I realized that I didn’t empty the caraf before making a new batch of soy milk, which caused the overflow. According to Ito et al. (2013, p. 79), “learning unfolds as young people propose, test, play with, and validate theories about the world, as well as by reflecting on and making sense of these experiences”. To acquire a new skill through connected learning, which is the approach I’m taking to carry out my NLP, “learning happens by doing” (Ito et al., 2013, p. 79). With this idea in mind, I cleaned up my mess and prepared to try again.

During my second attempt, I learned from my previous mistake and made sure to empty the caraf after each batch of soy milk was completed. I switched to the DIY Tofu video and followed the steps to make tofu. This video is a great resource, however, it moves through the steps very quickly. I often found myself rewinding and pausing to keep up with the instructions.

IMG_8749
The Finished Product

As I curdled the soy milk, I noticed that few curds were developing. This led to a thin, misshapen piece of tofu after the pressing process. However, as unappetizing as it looks, I actually made tofu! My tofu was more crumbly and had a softer texture than the store-bought tofu I am used to. “Today’s digital networks provide new opportunities for learners to access a wide range of knowledge and resources” (Ito et al., 2013, p. 76). I will turn to Twitter and other community forums to learn how to make firmer tofu.

I am excited to learn how to make a thicker, firmer tofu. I will let you know how it turns out next week!

 

References

America’s Test Kitchen. (2012, November 02). America’s test kitchen diy tofu. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-w4wQtYVl7k

Ito, Mizuko, Kris Gutiérrez, Sonia Livingstone, Bill Penuel, Jean Rhodes, Katie Salen, Juliet Schor, Julian Sefton-Green, S. Craig Watkins. 2013. Connected Learning: An Agenda for Research and Design. Irvine, CA: Digital Media and Learning Research Hub.

Ludlam-Raine, N. (2014, October 05). Retrieved June 04, 2018, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SOWlug2vrP8

Tribest Corporation. (2008). Features. Retrieved June 04, 2018, from http://www.soyabella.com/features/index.php

Twitter Inc. (2018). Homemadetofu. Retrieved June 4, 2018, from https://twitter.com/search?src=typd&q=homemadetofu