Network Learning Project: Final Attempt

Tony Wagner wrote, “because knowledge is available on every Internet-connected device, what you know matters far less than what you can do with what you know” (as cited in Friedman, 2013). Over the last few weeks in CEP 810, I’ve been working on a Networked Learning Project (NLP) that challenged me to learn something I had never done before. To add to this challenge, I was only permitted to use resources found on “the network” such as videos, blogs, and community forums. I documented my progress throughout my NLP (NLP1 and NLP2) to provide evidence of advancement in my chosen skill (Friedman, 2013). After many trials and error, I achieved my goal by successfully making homemade tofu from raw soybeans.

I began by researching and acquiring knowledge to familiarize myself with the ingredients and process in which tofu may be made. Renee Hobbs, author of  Digital and Media Literacy: Connecting Culture and Classroom (2011, p. 12), explains that the ability to access and analyze relevant information are two of the five fundamental skills utilized when learning through technology. A couple how-to videos on YouTube served as my primary sources for my NLP. Each video explains and demonstrates the particular skill focused on in the video. Nichola Ludlam-Raine (2014) teaches viewers how to make soy milk from raw soybeans using a Soyabella Soymilk Maker. I then followed the step-by-step process to create tofu from soy milk, as explained by Rebecca Morris of America’s Test Kitchen (2012). I created blog posts detailing the challenges I faced and the progress I made during my first few attempts at making homemade tofu (Hobbs, 2011, p. 12).

 

I was able to overcome the challenges I faced by applying the knowledge I acquired from my initial research and multiple trials and error. According to Bransford, Brown, & Cocking (p. 44), “an important aspect of learning is to become fluent at recognizing problem types […] so that appropriate solutions can be easily retrieved from memory”. I also reached out to individuals in my learning network to ask for advice on making a firmer tofu. At first, this was difficult because all of the community forums I found were either inactive or lacked recent activity. I posted my questions, but did not receive a response from other users.

After waiting for responses and searching for other forums, I returned to my video resources. Rebecca Morris recommends to keep the weight on the tofu in the tofu mold for a longer period of time in order to create firmer tofu (America’s Test Kitchen, 2012). Additionally, several YouTube commenters suggest using more coagulant to create firmer tofu. I decided to try both suggestions for my final attempt, and they worked! Not only was my tofu firmer, but the curds formed a more uniform, blocklike shape.

 

Not only did my NLP teach me how to make tofu, but also allowed me to develop and practice 21st century learning skills. I enjoyed learning from the network and plan to incorporate this learning approach in my own classroom. I think my students would enjoy this learning approach because they are able to use the Internet to learn, communicate with others, and create. A NLP would provide my students the opportunity to learn a new skill, overcome challenges, and practice their 21st century learning skills.

The world and its problems are constantly changing. Tony Wagner explains that students “…will need skills and motivation even more [than basic knowledge]” and “it is these skills that prepare individuals to be ‘innovation ready’” (as cited by Friedman, 2013). It is my job to prepare my students to be successful in life after high school. I plan to integrate technology in my classroom to allow students to practice their  21st century learning skills, and ultimately help them become successful problem-solvers and innovators.

 

References

America’s Test Kitchen. (2012, November 02). America’s test kitchen diy tofu. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-w4wQtYVl7k

Bransford, J., Brown, A.L. & Cocking, R. R. (Eds.). (2002). How people learn: Brain, mind, experience and school. Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press. Retrieved from http://www.nap.edu/openbook.php?isbn=0309070368

Friedman, T. L. (2013, March 30). Need a Job? Invent It. Retrieved June 12, 2018, from https://www.nytimes.com/2013/03/31/opinion/sunday/friedman-need-a-job-invent-it.html?smid=pl-share

Ludlam-Raine, N. (2014, October 05). Retrieved June 04, 2018, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SOWlug2vrP8

Tribest Corporation. (2008). Features. Retrieved June 04, 2018, from http://www.soyabella.com/features/index.php